The Grateful Life

Just Need to Cry March 22, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Nicole Welle Nere @ 11:42 am

Caelum loves to eat, there’s no doubt about it.  Always has.  The first thing when we get home around 5:30 is to have a snack.  Monday was no different.  He had his snack (probably 2!), and then I started making dinner.  Unfortunately, his favorite snacks, granola bars (“gola bars”) are visible every time I open the pantry door while cooking.  He got upset and wanted another one, but I was firm that dinner was starting soon.  Caelum’s reaction was to throw all of his magnets off the fridge onto the floor in a show of anger.  I said that wasn’t acceptable and put him in a timeout.

As is typical, after a couple minutes I went to him in his corner and knelt down for an apology and a hug.  Caelum is usually pretty eager to get out his “Sawee Mama” so he can get back to his playing.  But this time, between his gulps for air, he managed to get out, “Cry in my room.”  I said, “You want to cry in your room?”  “Yeah, cry in my room!”  How can you say no to that?  If a 2 1/2 year old can articulate that hey, I’m just upset right now and I need to go in my room to cry it out for a little bit, then that’s fine by me!  Hey, sometimes we all just need to cry.

 

Leave a Reply

